ajflow.blogg.se

My passport for mac review 2018
My passport for mac review 2018










my passport for mac review 2018
  1. #My passport for mac review 2018 software#
  2. #My passport for mac review 2018 password#
  3. #My passport for mac review 2018 series#
  4. #My passport for mac review 2018 windows#

#My passport for mac review 2018 software#

Currently, the software supports imports from Dropbox, Google Drive, Facebook, Instagram and OneDrive. WD Discovery can also be used to backup data from your cloud storage or social media accounts. I tried this out myself and it worked quite well. But the drive comes in with a built-in software opener that allows you to enter passwords on computers that don’t have WD Discovery installed too.

#My passport for mac review 2018 password#

Although, to set the password you’ll need to make use of the companion application – WD Discovery. Once the password protection is turned on, you’ll only be able to access the hard drive’s data if you enter the password. But before we get to that, it’s important to mention that the My Passport HDD boasts of password protection and 256-bit AES hardware encryption. While the performance is nothing to write home about, WD’s bundled software is what makes the My Passport HDD an interesting device.

my passport for mac review 2018

#My passport for mac review 2018 windows#

If you want to use the hard drive interchangeably between Windows and Mac, you can reformat the drive to exFAT or FAT file systems. The drive remained relatively cool during data transfers and didn’t make a lot of noise or vibrations.ĭepending on which variant you buy, Windows or Mac, the drive will be formatted in the NTFS system or the HFS+ system. Using a USB 2.0 port will give average read and write speeds of 40MB/s. In the CrystalDiskMark test, the Passport HDD was able to reach 111MB/s in and 105MB/s scores in read and write tests respectively. The drive has a white LED dot that’s located on the same side as the USB port and blinks when in operation.Ĭoming to performance, the 5400 RPM hard drive performs as expected. Would’ve definitely appreciated the use of USB Type-C here. Also, the drive works with USB 2.0 but will offer slower read/write speeds. The Passport comes with a USB 3.2 port which means you’ll have to carry the cable around with you at all times because there are dim chances of you finding other people carrying the same cable. If you’re looking for an external hard drive that’s fast, I’d suggest you check out SSDs. While it wasn’t that big of a deal for me, it’s worth mentioning.īeing an HDD, I didn’t quite expect the My Passport HDD to surprise me with its performance. While design and build quality are just fine, I found the casing to pick up scratches over time. It’s also slightly thicker coming in at 0.75-inches. However, the 4TB and the 5TB variant weighs a bit more, coming in at around 209 grams. The 1TB variant shares the same dimensions and weight. In terms of weight, it weighs about 120 grams that’s almost a third less than most modern-day smartphones. Also, did I mention that its pretty compact? Yes, the 2TB variant that we tested comes in a 4.2-inch x 3-inch footprint and is only 0.44-inch thick. But there are no sharp edges or any visible disturbances in the form of screws. The drive doesn’t make use of metal and the surface is plastic, through and through. The My Passport is 30% smaller than its previous generation. The Mac variant is available in a cooler Dark Blue hue. The Windows variant of the drive is available in a dual-tone design in colours of Blue, Black, and Red. The hard drive now has diagonal ridges running over a half of the surface that doesn’t just add visual flair but also helps with gripping the device. The My Passport gets an all-new design this time around.

my passport for mac review 2018

But is it worth it’s asking price? Well, let’s find out in our review of it. With AES 256-bit hardware encryption and useful companion software, the Passport stands to be the go-to choice for both Mac & Windows users.

my passport for mac review 2018

#My passport for mac review 2018 series#

Their latest series of My Passport drives shed some bulk and, a new 5TB version is said to be the thinnest in the industry. Western Digital’s My Passport range of external hard drives have been popular for offering a convenient storage solution to Mac and Window users alike.












My passport for mac review 2018